Merrimack Announces Finalists for Female Rookie of the Year; Vote Online Today


NORTH ANDOVER, MA – Shakee Messina (Caracas, Venezuela), Chloe Rothman (Newton, MA), and Stephanie Sheehan (Smithtown, NY) have been named finalists for the 2011-12 Merrimack Female Rookie of the Year.

Fans can log on to to vote for who they think should be this year’s winner. Voting on facebook only counts for a portion of final vote.

The winners will be announced at Merrimack’s annual Leadership, Education, Athletics and Development (LEAD) Awards on April 25 at 6 p.m. at the Rogers Center.

Merrimack’s #1 singles player, Messina sports a 16-6 record on the year and has led the women’s tennis team to a fifth-place finish in the league. A five-time Northeast-10 Rookie of the Week, Messina is a strong candidate for the NE-10 Rookie of the Year award. A business major, she was also the league’s Player of the Week once this season.

Starting all 25 games at point guard for the women’s basketball team, Rothman was third on the team with 8.9 points per game and tops with 5.3 assists per game. A sports medicine major, she led all Northeast-10 freshmen in assists per game and was second on the team with a 44.6% field goal percentage. She notched her first career double-double with 18 points and 10 assists in a win over New Haven.

Tying for the team lead with 95 sets played, Sheehan ranked second among Northeast-10 freshman with 287 kills and 3.02 kills per set. She led Merrimack in kills, digs, and aces and was named to the NE-10 All-Rookie team for her efforts. An elementary education major, Sheehan was named the NE-10 Rookie of the Week on September 7.

Last year’s winner was Danielle Dion (Grosvenordale, CT) from the women’s soccer team.

Over the next week, Merrimack is unveiling the finalists for its major awards online at The winners will all be announced at the LEAD Awards on April 25 in the Rogers Center at 6 p.m.

April 17 – Community Service finalists

April 18 – Male and Female Rookie of the Year finalists

April 20 – Male and Female Scholar Athlete of the Year finalists

April 23 – Male and Female Athlete of the Year finalists